Words With The Weployees

Meet our Weployee of the Week - Muna Osman

3 Min Read
Sara   |   February 7, 2019
WPLY-602-Weployee of the Week Featured Image-1

Pictured here with her mother, Muna Osman has a Bachelor of Science from the University of Melbourne. Working alongside her studies in both tech and marketing teams, Muna Osman has a keen desire to learn and build her experience in different working environments. A passionate social worker she has lent her time to help out the clients of Disabled Services charity - House with No Steps.

Name: Muna Abdibasid Osman

Education: Bachelor of Science (Honours in Psychology)

What was your first job: My first job was an administration role where I handled filing, phone handling and client correspondence.

What was your best job: My best job is the one I currently have. This is simply because I work with a wonderful team that are highly engaging and willingly support my desire to learn all I can. I enjoy the work pace and the complexity of my role.

What was your worst job: My worst job was a sales job. Although it gave me a lot of self-confidence, the rejections I would receive everyday would be very emotionally draining.

In addition to being paid, how else has your career created value in your life? My career has allowed me to remain mentally stimulated and has given me a space to grow and challenge myself to be the best version of myself.

Who was the biggest influence in your career? My biggest influence would be my father, who always pushes me towards excellence, but has always remained a pillar of support and guidance for me.

What would your ideal job be? My ideal job would be to work as a clinical psychologist that is involved with children and adolescents with Depression and Bipolar Disorder.

What is your happiest memory? My happiest memory is the day I managed to submit my thesis, because it was physical proof of all the hard work and effort I put into a research project I had to start from scratch.

Who is your biggest fan? My biggest fan would be my best friend, who has never stopped supporting me in everything I do even though we live in two different countries now.

Who are you a big fan of? I’m a big fan of an author named Barbara Kingsolver, whose written the Poisonwood Bible, a beautiful piece of written work I encourage everyone to read.

Name one of your biggest pet peeves? One of my biggest pet peeves is when someone whispers in my ear (weird, I know!).

If you could have one super-human power what would it be? My one superpower would be to manipulate probability. So if I ever wish for anything( let’s say the largest library in the world), I can just manipulate the probability of that happening to 100%. This way, you can get everything you want.

What do you like to do in your spare time? I like to read most of all, but I’ve also taken up following Bob Ross painting tutorials.

What’s your guilty pleasure? My guilty pleasure is skincare. I’m always splurging on the most expensive skin care I can buy, but guess what, my skin always looks great (although my wallet always looks slimmer).

Do you have any other skills or talents others don’t really know about? I’m double jointed so I can bend and twist my fingers in ways that make people uncomfortable when they discover my hidden talent.

What is a typical day like for you? My typical day involves myself getting ready for work, always missing breakfast no matter what I do, and after work, I tend to read, take walks or hang out with friends to catch up.

Aged 10 - What did you want to be when you grew up? I wanted to be a doctor, but I’ve since laid my dreams to rest and I now envision myself in a similar but slightly different field.

If we went for a Friday arvo drink, what would you order? Well, considering I don’t drink alcohol, you might catch me with a lemonade, or if I have a sweet tooth, a chocolate milkshake.

Name a few of your daily habits? My daily habits include my skin care routine (both night and day), an hour of reading or more, and telling my mum that I love her. 

What publications do you regularly read? I’m normally seen reading fiction novels but I will occasionally pick up a psychology journal to keep up to date with current research.

What would be your biggest piece of advice to your 20 year old self? Well, I’m not much older now, but I’d tell myself to always make time for self care and to never feel guilty about taking care of my own mental health.

See how Weploy works for yourself
Related Articles
Resourcing, Featured, Words With The Weployees
Meet our Weployee of the Week, Ashwin Almeida

Ashwin Almeida is a Business Management graduate from India. Having dreamed of living in an Australian city since he was a young boy, he moved from India to Melbourne in 2017 where he has utilised his account management experience to provide invaluable support for various companies via the Weploy app whilst studying for his Masters in Marketing Management. Passionate about learning and helping others, when he isn’t working he does voluntary work for Community initiatives and online courses like Hubspot Academy and Google Online Marketing. 

News, Words With The Weployees
Meet our Weployee of the Week - Kat Kohler

What was your first job:

News, Words With The Weployees
Meet our Weployee of the Week - Sarah McNamara

In just a few short months on the platform Sarah McNamara has already clocked up over 1000+ hours as a Weployee and earned a perfect 5* rating from her Weployers. Delivering magical customer experience is what gets her up in the morning which is why she's our Weployee of the Week!

Streamline your hiring

Business support staff with no hidden fees. Start hiring anytime.

Laptop and Plant